Monthly Archives: February 2019

2018 – LFJMQ Équipe Étoile / QMJFL All Star Team

The Quebec Major Junior Football League has announced its honorary list of players who have been selected for the 1st and 2nd Team All Stars for the 2018 season. These players will participate in the annual Quebec vs USA all star game. More details will be announced in the following months.

Ligne Offensive – Offensive Linemen

1st Team All Star 2nd Team All Star
#55 – Jack Augustin Durant — Sabercats de la Rive-Nord #50 – Alexis Matthieu — Chateauguay Raiders
#52 – Malcolm Desire — Chateauguay Raiders #50 – Kevin John Mathurin — Sabercats de la Rive-Nord
#59 – Joey Pisani — Ottawa Junior Riders #79 – Eric Bento — Ottawa Junior Riders
#55 – Samuel Béliveau — JR Bruizers de la Rive-Sud #57 – Jonathan Arseneault — JR Bruizers de la Rive-Sud
#60 – Justin Choquette — JR Bruizers de la Rive-Sud #77 – Paul Lukusa — Ottawa Junior Riders

Quart-arriere / Quarterback

1st Team All Star 2nd Team All Star
#3 – Étienne Goulet — JR Bruizers de la Rive-Sud #10 – Anthony Munty — Sabercats de la Rive-Nord

Demi a L’Attaque / Running Backs

1st Team All Star 2nd Team All Star
#37 – Jahdel Ferron — Ottawa Junior Riders #7 – Jevon Taylor — Chateauguay Raiders
#5 – Adam Marapin — JR Bruizers de la Rive-Sud #1 – Jeff Gay — Sabercats de la Rive-Nord

Receveurs / Receivers

1st Team All Star 2nd Team All Star
#89 – Christopher Valentine — Chateauguay Raiders #1 – Vincenzo Trunzo — Ottawa Junior Riders
#7 – Jaeger Prot — Ottawa Junior Riders #88 – Tavon Hibbert — Ottawa Junior Riders
#6 – Jeanslee Alexis — Sabercats de la Rive-Nord #12 – Alexandre Poulin-Rioux — JR Bruizers de la Rive-Sud
#5 – Dynell Pierre — Sabercats de la Rive-Nord #13 – Antoine Coté — JR Bruizers de la Rive-Sud
#21 – Vincent Hamel — JR Bruizers de la Rive-Sud #3 – Brandon Parent — Chateauguay Raiders

Ligne Defensif / Defensive Linemen

1st Team All Star 2nd Team All Star
#44 – Darryl Jean-Baptist — Ottawa Junior Riders #9 – Sanders Armand — Chateauguay Raiders
#92 – Steve Arce Villegas — Sabercats de la Rive-Nord #91 – Mathieu Labelle — Sabercats de la Rive-Nord
#45 – Tyler Andreoli — Chateauguay Raiders #99 – C.J. Wallace — Ottawa Junior Riders
#47 – Zachary Gagnon-Blais — JR Bruizers de la Rive-Sud #90 – Anthony Noel — JR Bruizers de la Rive-Sud

Secondeurs / Linebackers

1st Team All Star 2nd Team All Star
#6 – Bruno Philippe Defosses-Simard — Chateauguay Raiders #41 – Austin MacKay — Ottawa Junior Riders
#11 – Wily Labrecque — Sabercats de la Rive-Nord #14 – Jeremie Pozywiak — Sabercats de la Rive-Nord
#19 – Bamki Adewalle — Ottawa Junior Riders #37 – Jevon-Jordan Richards — Chateauguay Raiders
#7 – Anthony Boone — JR Bruizers de la Rive-Sud #48 – Donovan McLean — Ottawa Junior Riders

Demi a la Defensif / Defensive Secondary

1st Team All Star 2nd Team All Star
#0 – Loic Perrier — Sabercats de la Rive-Nord #82 – Samuel PAatrick Mistiva — Chateauguay Raiders
#20 – Jordon Gorgichuck — Ottawa Junior Riders #31 – Xavier Parent — Sabercats de la Rive-Nord
#5 – Nicki Plourde — JR Bruizers de la Rive-Sud #21 – Philip Jean-Baptist — Ottawa Junior Riders
#8 – Edwouard Valme — Chateauguay Raiders #49 – Nathanael Berlus — Chateauguay Raiders
#4 – Kervin Laguerre — JR Bruizers de la Rive-Sud #2 – Justin Butler — Ottawa Junior Riders

League expands player awards

Since its inception in 1981 the Quebec Junior Major Football League has maintained a consistent structure for recognizing its outstanding players after each season and prides itself on the talent produced from each team year over year.

The trophies and awards handed out by the league each year consisted of three categories:

1. Each week during the regular season, players who distinguished themselves with outstanding plays on offense or defense were rewarded with the Player of the Week honors
2. At the end of the season, the best players in the league were nominated to the All-Star team
3. At the end of season awards banquet, five players would receive one of the five major awards, which included: – defensive player of the year – offensive player of the year – rookie of the year – league’s most valuable player – special teams player of the year In addition, the Coaching Staff of the Year trophy is also presented at the awards banquet.


At the most recent meeting of the league governors and executives this past December, however, a proposal was put forward to expand the list of award categories in order to better reflect the different roles that players have on a football team. After a lengthy and detailed discussion, a motion was passed to modify the awards categories as follows:

a. The outstanding offensive and defensive player awards, as well as the award for the outstanding special teams player will remain
b. The rookie of the year award will be split into separate awards for players on offense and defense
c. The league’s most valuable player award will also be split into awards for offensive and defensive players
d. A new award for the outstanding kicker has been added

Also, instead of a single All-Star team selection, the league’s outstanding players will now be recognized for their performance on the field with nominations to either the 1st team all stars or the 2nd team all-stars.

The player of the week awards will be discontinued.

All the new award categories will be presented at the upcoming banquet on Saturday, Feb. 9, 2019.